Perfect Moment

When I got home from work on Friday, my husband huried out the front door and met me in the driveway. He was excited, like a little boy, and I couldn’t help but smile, wondering what was he was up to.

“I have something to show you, ” he told me.

He led me to the side of our yard, and there was a beautiful potted rose there, brilliant yellow blooms accented with vivid orange, like a flame. He told me it was an early birthday present.

“I love it!” And I did. The flowers were stunning. I adore roses. I was already picturing it in various spots in the garden.

He looked serious suddenly and turned to me. “I want to tell you why I got this particular one.”

He gestured to the tag on the pot. “It’s called a Perfect Moment rose,” he told me, “and as soon as I saw that, I wanted to get it for you, because the most perfect moment of my life is when I met you.”

What do you say to that? My heart swelled. I felt so completely loved, overwhelmed with my emotions. I couldn’t come up with anything to say except “I love you.” I hope he knows how very much I do.

It is, beyond a doubt, the very best birthday gift I have ever received. I feel lucky. Loved. Grateful. Happy. Because he is definitely my perfect moment, too.

Rosa ‘Perfect Moment’

Author: Stained Glass Butterfly

Writer. Reader. Lover of all things leopard print. Oh, and obviously I adore butterflies.

One thought on “Perfect Moment”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started